It was an exciting trip through the Big Apple with New York City's finest. This is another brilliant novel from Don Winslow, author of, I read this book in three days, and at just shy of 500 pages, that tells you how gripping it was. June 20th 2017 Much like Frankie Machine, I picked this up because it might be made into a movie, this one staring Matt Damon. Stakes are high and consistently raised. Others are too broad in scope to get their full point across (The Power of the Dog). There are many characters and locations and illicit police habits to introduce. This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Worth Killing returns with an electrifying and downright Hitchcockian psychological thriller—as tantalizing as the cinema classics Rear Window and Wait Until Dark—involving a young woman ... Una novela del autor de superventas de los New York Times y recipiente del premio ... Una novela del autor de superventas de los New York Times y recipiente del premio Characters Symbols and Symbolism Settings Themes and Motifs Styles Quotes. A book that on one hand is crazily entertaining but also makes you hit Google and read articles to learn more about its timely issues. They set up surveillance on Castillo. This feels like it needs a modern day McQueen, the Safdie brothers, and a boatload of speed. Information at BookBrowse.com is published with the permission of the copyright holder or their agent. . This section contains 1,379 words … Languages unto themselves. I wish I’d written it! The latter is the home of Sgt. “So smoking hot that this reviewer kept imagining that the pages were blistering and that there was steam rising up from the cover… If you read just one book this summer, make it The Force. Denny and his partners, Russo, Monty, and Billy, raid the apartment of a big dealer, Diego Pena. A hero cop. Malone wakes up at the house of his mistress, Claudette, who is black and addicted to heroin, and then gets into a fight with his wife over the phone. He walks to work and meets with Captain Sykes, who wants more heroin arrests for his numbers. new novel set in the literary world of 1970s New York, following a washed-up writer in an errant quest to pick up the pieces of ... America, Britain, and Russia are drawn into a battle for a gigantic oil strike on ... America, Britain, and Russia are drawn into a battle for a gigantic oil strike on Malone prides himself on loyalty and tradition, but after a multimillion-dollar heroin bust gets the attention of the feds, he's forced to make an unthinkable decision: to turn on his brother cops and rat on his beloved teammates. . Like can’t-put-it-down, can’t-get-the-voices-out-of-your-head fantastic. Need another excuse to treat yourself to a new book this week? Clearly one of the most ambitious and most accomplished crime novels to appear in the last 15 years, THE CARTEL will likely retain that distinction even as the twenty-first century grinds on. Malone and his crew are the smartest, the toughest, the quickest, the bravest, and the baddest, an elite special unit given unrestricted authority to wage war on gangs, drugs and guns. You said the mayor, the president of the United States, the pope—people in New York would have laid odds they'd see them behind bars before they saw Detective First Grade Dennis John Malone. Claudette is a recovering drug addict who is basically around to sleep with Malone and lay a heaping of white guilt when the story calls for it. Every day and every night for the eighteen years he's spent on the Job, Malone has served on the front lines, witnessing the hurt, the dead, the victims, the perps. Reader Reviews. Tense, brutal, wildly atmospheric, stunningly plotted, deeply etched. Highly recommended and another piece of evidence on the "I buy Don Winslow as soon as he is released" pile! It’s not an exaggeration to say I got lost in this one. Pages burn as they turn. He gets Monty and Russo on tape, but they suspect him of wearing a wire. Overall, I liked Freedom, too, but it has parts that I actively HATED. When Malone finds Fat Teddy, he arrests him for heroin and gun possession. I have been a fan of Don Winslow's for more than 20 years, starting when I found his series featuring Neal Carey, one of the more unlikely private investigators I had seen back then. by William Morrow. It’s incredible. Denny Malone leads the men of the Manhattan North Special Task Force, an elite group of NYPD detectives otherwise known as “Da Force”. And now we get to the end, which really nosedived the book for me and made me take away a star, even though on the whole I liked it a lot. But it stood to reason that I'd probably enjoy something like. Malone follows Torres’s old team, who is meeting with Castillo. Fans of The Shield, The Wire, or any other forms of goodness. 43 college students have disappeared.What happened?Acapulco's first female police detective is about to find out ... 43 college students have disappeared.What happened?Acapulco's first female police detective is about to find out This superbly-written storyline did not fail to deliver a stunning, dramatic ending. Established and respected author, who writes gritty thrillers. The American way is: truth and justice maybe say hello in the hallway, send each other a Christmas card, but that’s about the extent of their relationship.”, Barry Award Nominee for Best Novel (2018), Anthony Award Nominee for Best Novel (2018). He is telling his story from a cell, but how did this king of the streets, at the top of his game, descend so low? Detective Sergeant Denny Malone takes us on a searing journey through the corruption that lies at the heart of our justice system. This review is available to non-members for a limited time. Winslow layers the story with persons, events, things. The use of the N word so much, got under my skin though I understand the context within which it was used and that it was being used for authenticity's sake. Winslow is a really talented writer, who weaves together a clever, intriguing plot with a strange but successful blend of machismo, humanity and shocking reality. Narco-esque and Godfather-ishy at the same time. A gut punch of a new cop thriller. Captain Sykes also wants Malone to stop a drug lord, DeVon Carter, from purchasing a large amount of guns that will be used to start a war with the Dominican gangs. It came fully enriched with profane police lingo and gangbanger street slang. An instant classic, an epic, a goddamn Wagner opera… basically Game of Thrones without the dragons. Malone returns to Claudette’s house, sleeps for an hour, and then wakes up and takes pills and goes to open presents with his wife and children. It’s one of the most daring and explosive books of summer, grabbing readers by the front of the shirt and dragging them into a world where honor and wrongdoing are mismatched partners… (It has) a sardonic, streetwise voice — like a pissed off conscience, telling a cautionary tale. Winslow has delivered two of the most emotionally resonant novels in the past decade, The Power of the Dog and its epic conclusion, THE CARTEL...his rapid-fire story hits you like bullets from an AK-47. Author Bio, First Published: and they want Malone to give them information on corrupt judicial employees in exchange for ignoring the evidence on the tape. Storytelling that matters. ]—Michael Pucci, South Orange P.L., NJ, ©1997-2020 Barnes & Noble Booksellers, Inc. 122 Fifth Avenue, New York, NY 10011, DON WINSLOW is the author of twenty-one acclaimed, award-winning international bestsellers, including the. It’s rare for a writer to produce two career-defining masterpieces back-to-back, but that’s exactly what Winslow has done.… Winslow has created what will likely become our quintessential cop novel, looking both at what cops do right and wrong with clear-eyed realism and passionate humanity. Excerpt | but prefers jazz to rap, hip-hop and r&b. Pena tries to strike a deal with Malone, but Malone shoots him without provocation and then steals the money and heroin. Based on years of research inside the NYPD, this is the great cop novel of our time and a book only Don Winslow could write: a haunting and heartbreaking story of greed and violence, inequality and race, crime and injustice, retribution and redemption that reveals the seemingly insurmountable tensions between the police and the diverse citizens they serve.